‘Critics Choice Super Awards’ On The CW, Plus ‘Star Trek’ Legacy Honors


The Super Awards are finally here. Clerks auteur Kevin Smith is a writer, actor and producer, and he is one of the hosts along with TV writer and esteemed on-air personality Dani Fernandez.

Together they will kick off the inaugural Critics Choice Super Awards that celebrates the action packed, super hero-centric movies and TV shows that are smoking hot and critically acclaimed.

Smith and Fernandez will appear on The CW this coming January 10, 2021.

The categories celebrated include: Superhero/Comic Book, Science Fiction/Fantasy, Horror, Action and Animation.

Critics Choice Super Awards presenters

The Critics Choice Association (CCA) announced the talent that will join Smith and Fernandez at the inaugural Critics Choice Super Awards, helping them to honor the top fan-obsessed genres across both television and movies.

Those stars booked to present include: Shohreh Aghdashloo, Aya Cash, Madelyn Cline, Mike Colter, Colman Domingo, Tom Ellis, Courtney Ford, Tiffany Haddish, Sam Heughan, Maddison Jaizani, Lennie James, Martin Kove, Javicia Leslie, Leah Lewis, Caity Lotz, Ralph Macchio, Kennedy McMann, Elizabeth Mitchell, Lindsey Morgan, Bob Morley, Genevieve Padalecki, Jared Padalecki, Brandon Routh, Chase Stokes, Eliza Taylor, Gina Torres, Alan Tudyk, and William Zabka,


“We know that the Super Awards are in the best hands with Kevin Smith and Dani Fernandez at the helm,” said Critics Choice Association CEO Joey Berlin in a press statement to TV Shows Ace. “They bring with them an unparalleled knowledge of and enthusiasm for these sometimes underappreciated genres that we know fans and viewers will love. They are joined by a stellar line-up of fan favorites who will be on hand to support their ‘Super’ colleagues and help showcase the very best in popular entertainment.”

Legacy Award

The Critics Choice Association will also present the Legacy Award to the Gene Roddenberry Star Trek franchise, recognizing the impact and the enduring legacy for multiple decades while continuing to appeal to and grow its loyal fanbase with new stories and characters.

The series premiered on NBC in the fall of 1966 but not without drama and some cultural and societal milestones. It became a franchise juggernaut with a multigenerational fanbase.

Patrick Stewart, and Star Trek: Discovery trailblazer Sonequa Martin-Green will accept this special honor, which comes as the franchise celebrates its 55th anniversary.

The nominees

Hulu and NEON’s time warp comedy Palm Springs leads this year’s film nominees.

The film earned five including Best Science Fiction/Fantasy Movie, Best Actor in a Science Fiction/Fantasy Movie for Andy Samberg, Best Actor in a Science Fiction/Fantasy Movie and Best Villain in a Movie for J.K. Simmons, and Best Actress in a Science Fiction/Fantasy Movie for Cristin Milioti.

CCA says that “several films followed close behind with four nominations,” including Birds of Prey (Warner Bros.), Freaky (Universal), Onward (Disney+), Sonic the Hedgehog (Paramount), The Hunt (Universal), The Old Guard (Netflix), and The Willoughbys (Netflix).

HBO got major love for historically based sci-fi horror drama Lovecraft Country which snapped up the most television nominations, with a total of six possible wins.

The noms include Best Horror Series, Best Actor in a Horror Series for Jonathan Majors, Best Actor in a Horror Series for Michael K. Williams, Best Actress in a Horror Series for Wunmi Mosaku, Best Actress in a Horror Series for Jurnee Smollett, and Best Villain in a Series for Abbey Lee.

Amazon’s The Boys received five nominations.

They include Best Superhero/Comic Book Series, Best Actor in a Superhero/Comic Book Series and Best Villain in a Series for Antony Starr, Best Actor in a Superhero/Comic Book Series for Karl Urban, and Best Actress in a Superhero/Comic Book Series for Aya Cash.

For the full list of nominees, click here.

About the Critics Choice Association (CCA)

The Critics Choice Association is the largest critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 400 television, radio and online critics and entertainment reporters, of which this writer is a long time member.

It was established in 2019 with the formal merger of the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association, recognizing the blurring of the distinctions between film, television, and streaming content.

The inaugural Critics Choice Super Awards show will be produced by Bob Bain Productions. The CCA is represented by Dan Black of Greenberg Traurig.

Critics Choice Super Awards will air on The CW on Sunday, January 10 from 8:00-10:00pm ET/PT and will stream the next day for free on The CW App and cwtv.com.

April Neale

Articles You May Like

Savannah Chrisley Puts Sun-Kissed Legs On Display In Sizzling Snap
Todd Chrisley Issues Statement On Lindsie & Will’s Divorce
Isabel Roloff Shows Off Baby Bump In Skintight Dress: ‘Hot Mom Summer’
Janelle Brown Encourages Fans To Change: ‘Do Something Different’
Vernon Davis Discusses Biggest Hurdles On ‘Dancing With The Stars’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *